North East


North East England has four counties in the region: County Durham; Tyne and Wear; Northumberland and part of North Yorkshire. Cities and large towns in the region include Newcastle upon Tyne, Middlesbrough, Sunderland, Gateshead, Darlington and Hartlepool.

The opposition

In the North East region, Breakthrough's main oposition is the Labour Party who currently hold 16 seats, they are followed by the Conservative Party who currently hold 11 seats.

Other seats in the North East are held by Independent with 2 seats.

We'd love to hear from you! If you're wanting to start up a local branch in your area or have any questions about what we're doing in the North East, drop us an email at [email protected]

Of the 29 constituencies in the North East, Breakthrough members are in 16 of them!

  • Berwick-upon-Tweed
  • Bishop Auckland
  • Blaydon
  • Blyth Valley
  • Darlington
  • North Durham
  • North West Durham
  • City of Durham
  • Easington
  • Gateshead
  • Hartlepool
  • Hexham
  • Houghton and Sunderland South
  • Jarrow
  • Middlesbrough
  • Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland
  • Newcastle upon Tyne Central
  • Newcastle upon Tyne East
  • Newcastle upon Tyne North
  • Redcar
  • Sedgefield
  • South Shields
  • Stockton North
  • Stockton South
  • Sunderland Central
  • Tynemouth
  • North Tyneside
  • Wansbeck
  • Washington and Sunderland West

Our members are working to bring radical change to British politics. Join us now and

JOIN Breakthrough